Skip to Content

Suspension Appeals Committee

Function and Meeting Information: 
Hears undergraduate student appeals, recommends policies, administers approved policies, and recommends revisions as necessary.  Each hearing will be composed of three faculty committee members, the chair or vice chair, and student representatives. The committee comprises a minimum of 15 faculty members, with each college represented.

This committee only hears undergraduate student appeals. Graduate students are required per university policy to appeal to the Graduate College.



Meets four times each year, before each semester. Committee members normally are asked to attend two of the four meetings to hear student appeals. Each meeting requires two to five hours of work. This committee has an important impact on the future of students on academic suspension.


2023 - 2024 Members

College    Suspension Appeals Committee Title, Department  Term Exp  Chair  Email 
Applied Arts  Shailendra Singh  Associate Professor, OWLS 2026
Applied Arts  Ashley Arnio Associate Professor, Criminal Justice & Criminology  2024
Business  Joni Charles Associate Professor, Finance & Economics  2025
Business  Gail Zank  Professor, Marketing  2026
Education  Nathan Bond  Professor, Curriculum and Instruction  2024
Education  Carol Delaney Associate Professor, Curriculum and Instruction 2026
Education  Paul Jantz  Associate Professor, Counseling, Leadership, Adult Education and School Psychology  2025
Fine Arts and Communication  Neil Stewart  Assistant Professor, Theatre and Dance  2024
Fine Arts and Communication  Thomas May Lecturer – Art & Design 2025
Health Professions  Nicholas Henry  Associate Professor, Respiratory Care  2025
Health Professions  Steve Spivey  Clinical Associate Professor, Physical Therapy  2026
Liberal Arts  Sherri Mora  Senior Lecturer, Political Science  2024
Liberal Arts  Carrie Crisp  Lecturer, Philosophy  2026
Science and Engineering  Leslie Shroyer  Senior Lecturer, Mathematics  2026  Chair
Science and Engineering  Kavita Kakirde  Senior Lecturer, Biology  2026
Science and Engineering Jessica Dutton Associate Professor, Biology 2026
Martha Fraire-Cuellar  University Registrar, Office of University Registrar  ex officio
Lyndi Wittikiend  Director, Faculty and Academic Resources  ex officio
Sergio Barrios  Senior Counselor, Counseling Center  ex officio