Skip to Content

Piper Professor Committee

Function and Meeting Information:

Recommends to the Faculty Senate the Piper nominee to be submitted to the Provost. In addition, the committee also recommends to the Senate the recipients of the Everette Swinney Faculty Senate Excellence in Teaching Award. The committee is comprised of one faculty member per college, plus one former Piper Professor.

The Piper Professor Committee typically meets twice in late September-mid October. Workload depends on the number of Piper applicants, usually about 15-20 hours. The chair usually spends another 2-3 hours organizing.

2022 - 2023 Members

Piper Professor Committee Term Exp Chair Email
Applied Arts Amy Benton Associate Professor, Social Work 2023
Business Ivilina Popova Professor, Finance & Economics 2024
Education Cheryl Fulton Assistant Professor, Counseling, Leadership, Adult Education and School Psychology 2023
Fine Arts and Communication Lynn Ledbetter Professor, Music 2025 Chair
Health Professions Rosaleen Bloom Assistant Professor, Nursing 2024
Liberal Arts William DeSoto Professor, Political Science 2025
Piper Recipient David Lemke Professor, Biology 2023
Science and Engineering Andrea Aspbury Senior Lecturer, Biology 2025