Skip to Content

University Performing Arts Committee

Function and Meeting Information:

Brings outstanding artists to the university who will contribute to the development of an appreciation of the arts. The committee is comprised of a minimum of eight faculty members (four from Fine Arts and Communication), plus one Library representative.

The committee typically meets once a month during long semesters. Committee members also attend and assist at two evening University Arts events each semester. Work is generally spread out over the year, but it is a little heavier during the fall semester, when the arts event series for the following academic year is being finalized. The typical time commitment is about 16 hours per semester.


The University Performing Arts Committee promotes artistic excellence through diverse, inspiring and engaging programming for the university and local communities.

Mission:  The University Performing Arts Committee brings outstanding artists to the university to support arts education and raise awareness of the arts by engaging audiences in diverse student-centered events that enrich and enliven the cultural landscape of the campus and surrounding region.

2022 - 2023 Members

College University Performing Arts Committee Approved 7/20/22

Term Exp Chair Email
Science and Engineering Amanda Walker Senior Lecturer, Mathematics 2024
Education Julia Meritt Senior Lecturer, Curriculum and Instruction 2023
Science and Engineering Paula Williamson University Distinguished Professor, Biology 2023
Fine Arts and Communication Nico Schuler Professor, Music 2025 Chair
Fine Arts and Communication Lynn Ledbetter Professor, Music 2025
Fine Arts and Communication Michelle Nance Professor, Theatre and Dance 2025
Fine Arts and Communication Kathryn Glasheen-Dentino Associate Professor, Theatre and Dance 2025
Fine Arts and Communication Margo Handwerker Program Faculty, Art and Design ex officio
Liberal Arts Peter Dedek Professor, History 2024
Library Katie Salzmann Librarian, Alkek Library 2024
Evans Auditorium Gaila Raymer Operations Manager, Evans Auditorium ex officio