Skip to Content

List of Speakers

Genocide Awareness Symposium List of Speakers 

Alex Alvarez, Professor in the Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Northern Arizona University 
Chigbo Arthur Anyaduba, Associate Professor of English, The University of Winnipeg
Sarwa Azeez, Kurdish poet, translator, and Fulbright scholar 
Suparno Banerjee, Professor of English and Honorary Professor of International Studies, Texas State University 
Elizabeth Bishop, Associate Professor of History, Texas State University 
Faisal Devji, Professor of Indian History, University of Oxford and Director of the Asian Studies Centre at St. Antony's College 
Arie M. Dubnov, Associate Professor of History and Max Ticktin Chair of Israel Studies, George Washington University
Amy Frake, Associate Director of Education at Holocaust Museum Houston
Laurie Garcia, Senior Associate Director of Education and the Cynthia and Richard Loewenstern Family Endowed Professor in Education, Holocaust Museum Houston

Micaela Cayton Garrido, Lecturer, DePaul University
Alberto Giordano, Professor in the Department of Geography, Texas State University

Diana B Greenwald, Assistant Professor, New York University

Alexander Hinton, Director of the Center for the Study of Genocide and Human Rights, Distinguished Professor of Anthropology, and UNESCO Chair in Genocide Prevention at Rutgers University
Falah Kaboo, a multifaceted Yazidi artist, translator, short story writer, and human rights activist

Lucy Taus Katz, Commissioner, Texas Holocaust, Genocide, and Antisemitism Advisory Commission
Lukas Meissel, Postdoctoral Scholar, Hebrew University Jerusalem
A. Dirk Moses, Anne and Bernard Spitzer Professor of Political Science at City University of New York

Inna Sahakyan, Director of “Aurora’s Sunrise”

Omar Yousef Shehabi, Acting Assistant Professor, New York University School of Law 
Katherine Southwick, Researcher and Co-author for the US Holocaust Memorial Museum’s resources on Criminal Justice Approaches for Preventing Mass Atrocities
Robert T. Tally Jr., Professor of English, Texas State University

Henry Theriault, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, Worcester State University
Providence Umugwaneza, Founder of the Kabeho Neza Initiative, and a survivor of the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda
James Waller, inaugural Christopher J. Dodd Chair in Human Rights Practice and Director of the Dodd Human Rights Impact Programs for the Human Rights Institute, University of Connecticut
Edward B. Westermann, Regents Professor of History and a Piper Professor of 2023, Texas A&M University-San Antonio