Registration Information

Registration for all locations outside of the Central Texas region (For Certification Only)

To register for CPM Programs offered through Texas Tech, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Stephen F. Austin State University, or the University of Houston please contact the Program Director for that University. See CPM Director information below.

Registration for San Marcos, Round Rock, Arlington, Online and TARC programs (For Certification Only)

“Certification Only” courses conducted at the Round Rock, San Marcos, and/or Arlington locations, are provided by Texas State University. The online registration page allows you to choose the desired location, then complete and submit the registration form. Payment may be made by credit card or by requesting an alternative method.  Payment is not required at the time of registration, but payment is due by the first day of class. Begin on the Texas State University registration and payment page.

Registration for San Marcos and Round Rock locations (For Undergraduate and Graduate Academic Credit)

To earn academic credit for CPM tracks, students must attend either the San Marcos or Round Rock locations. Students also need approval from their academic department and should check the CPM Program Details page for Track descriptions and course conversion numbers to find academic course equivalents. CPM courses do not meet on regular semester schedules and students should consult the CPM schedule for meeting dates, locations, and modality. 

To request academic credit registration, students will need to complete the online Office of Distance & Extended Learning (ODEL) form. Once this form is submitted, and approval from the William P. Hobby Center for Public Service granted, you will receive final approval and additional important information from ODEL. The ODEL approval allows you to sign up through the Texas State University Banner Registration System, as all other regular university courses. Please contact Joshua Book at or (512) 245-6327 in ODEL if you have any problems with the completion of this form. If you have any specific questions about the CPM tracks, contact Dr. Miha Vindis at or (512) 245-3453.

Registration for the Online CPM Program

The Texas CPM program is offering a pilot online program through the internet as a combination of live Zoom sessions and asynchronous coursework. Beginning in January 2024, Tracks 1-6 are completed over a concentrated twelve months with 18-20 hours of live online classroom meetings per month. Track 7, the Applied Project Practicum, is an independent study from January through May 2025.  The program may be completed in 17 months with graduation in June 2025. The 2024 Online program is full. Please reach out if you have any questions. 

The pilot online program is only open to participants who live more than 100 miles from any existing program location. For questions about locations and limitations, please reach out to Dr. Miha Vindis (contact details below). Registration for the pilot program is limited to 15 eligible participants on a first-come, first-served basis. The registration fee for certification is $695 per track.

As a pilot, the online program is in an evaluation phase and participants will be asked to give frequent feedback on the online environment, logistics, shared sites, delivery, and engagement.

If you are interested in the online program, please complete this form.

Requirements: Candidates must have reliable broadband internet access, a computer or tablet, a working camera, and a good microphone. Video and audio participation is mandatory during all online courses and engagements. 

The Online CPM Program is a collaboration of Texas State University and the University of Houston.

Dr. Miha Vindis
Professor & Director
Texas Certified Public Manager (CPM Program)
Political Science Department
Texas State University
601 University Drive
San Marcos, Texas 78666
(512) 245-3453

CPM Program Directors:

Texas State University

Miha Vindis, Ph.D. 
Director, Texas CPM Program, San Marcos and Round Rock locations
Professor, Dept. of Political Science
Texas State University
601 University Drive
San Marcos, Texas 78666

Texas State University Arlington Program

Dr. Howard R. Balanoff,
Fellow, National Academy of Public Administration
The William P. Hobby Center for Public Service
Texas State University
601 University Drive
San Marcos, Texas 78666

Texas Tech University

Sung-Wook Kwon, Ph.D.
Director, Texas Tech CPM Program
and Center for Public Service
Department of Political Science
Texas Tech University
Lubbock, TX 79409

Stephen F. Austin State University

Dr. Richard J. Herzog
Co. Director, CPM Program
Department of Government
Stephen F. Austin State University
P.O. Box 13045, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962-3045

The University of Houston

Chelsea O’Hara
CPM Coordinator
University of Houston
Houston, Texas 77204-5021
713.743.3970 Office
713.743.3978 Fax

University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Mr. John Milford
CPM Program Director
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Edinburg, TX
956.607.2001 Office


Jayshree Bhat, MS, MBA
Director of Continuing Education
UTPA McAllen Teaching Site
1800 Main Street #1100
McAllen, TX 78503
Ph. 956-665-2073; Fax: 956-928-1445


We're here to help.