Skip to Content

Upcoming Keynote Speaker

Dionicio "Don" Flores

Member, The Texas State University System Board of Regents and Texas State University Distinguished Alumnus

Saturday, August 6, 2022, 10 a.m.

Regent Don Flores

Dionicio “Don” Flores earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism from Texas State University in 1973. Flores maintained ties with his alma mater as former Chairman of The Texas State University System (TSUS) Board of Regents, Past President of the Texas State University Alumni Association, and member of Texas State’s Development Foundation. In 1994, Flores received Texas State’s Distinguished Alumnus Award, and in 2004 was named a member of the School of Journalism and Mass Communication’s Hall of Fame. In 2015, Texas State awarded Flores with a Doctor of Laws degree, honoris causa.

In 2009, Governor Rick Perry appointed Flores to The Texas Southern University Board of Regents, serving as First Vice Chairman until 2015. Flores was appointed to the TSUS Board of Regents by Governor George W. Bush in 1999, serving through 2008, and was reappointed in 2019.

Joining Gannett in March 1985, Flores held editing and management positions at the Tucson Citizen in Tucson, Arizona; The Santa Fe New Mexican, in New Mexico; the Visalia Times-Delta in Visalia, California; and Gannett West in Reno, Nevada, before his promotions and transfers to Iowa City and later El Paso. As a longtime journalist and newspaper executive, Flores was President and Publisher of the Iowa City Press-Citizen in Iowa City, Iowa, before going to El Paso in 1993. After retiring as
Vice President and Editor of the El Paso Times in 2008, he formed Flores Media Consulting where he is a community outreach consultant and media specialist.

Flores has been active in many industry associations, including the American Society of Newspaper Editors. He served on the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications, and multiple times as a jurist in the Pulitzer Prize competitions. Flores is also a Past President of the National Association of Hispanic Journalists.